….

I know it took me a while to post this, but the cacophony in my head refused to communicate itself through my fingers.

I used to be a proponent of the death penalty. If you took it upon yourself to take another human being’s life, then the state has the right to take yours. Simple, right? Hardly. But this post isn’t about the fallacies of the death penalty. This post is about Anthony Haynes, a death row inmate, a man condemned to death for the murder of an off-duty police officer. More on that later. Keep reading.

You may wonder why I’d become a pen pal to a prisoner at all, much less a death row inmate. To be honest, I don’t even know. I could say that it’s because I’ve been on the other side of the law myself, but even I am not at all too sure that is the entire reason. I guess the “why” doesn’t matter. Anyway, I found Anthony’s profile on http://www.writeaprisoner.com , a website where the loved ones of inmates can post prisoner’s pics and bios in the hopes of finding them someone to make their bids a little easier. I have an ex who is in prison and I do write him regularly, so I wasn’t really expecting to start a pen pal relationship with anyone else, but when I ran across Anthony’s profile, I was intrigued. I did hesitate when I saw he was on Texas’ death row because I didn’t want to start such a relationship with someone who was condemned to die. Not for what you may think, though…the fact that he’d committed murder didn’t phase me so much as the great possibility that he’d die after us getting to know each other, to like each other…

And that is exactly what happened. You would not believe how Anthony has enriched my life, and hopefully I have done the same for him. We open up to each other about everything; he’s intelligent, well-read, very spiritual…I don’t believe he’d be a future threat to society at all. He made a mistake, reacted to a situation in the only way he knew how. Anthony hadn’t known that the victim was a police officer—the man was in plainclothes and was supposedly reaching for his credentials when Anthony, thinking the man was reaching for a weapon, shot him first. Anthony has never once denied this. Due to how Harris County’s “just-US” system handled his case, the Supreme Court had granted him a new trial back in 2009, but then reversed their decision in the following year. He’s submitted several appeals in regards to this, but his final appeal was just denied. Technically he only should have been sentenced to 20-25 years at most. But Harris County is known for manipulating “certain” cases in favor of putting another Black man on death row. Oh, don’t look at me that way. The truth is what the truth is, regardless of whether you want to see it or not.

He says that if his sentence were to be commuted to life, he wouldn’t sign for it, and I don’t particularly blame him. I wouldn’t want to spend the rest of my life in prison, either. However, I don’t want him to die at the hands of corrupt ass Harris County. But yet and still, he has hope, and his hope is contagious. I’m a realist to my very core, but I also believe in God and have faith that His will, whatever it may be, will be done in this situation. In the meantime, I will continue to write him and visit him whenever I can. I have visited a few times with his mother, but since I don’t have a vehicle and she isn’t in Houston very often anymore, it’s now difficult for me to travel 1 ½ hours outside of Houston. His father and I have made arrangements to visit next month, so I’m definitely looking forward to that.

As for Anthony, he’s going to continue to read, write letters, pray, and most of all, live. I’m praying for you too, Anthony Cardell Haynes, and I’ll be here no matter what.

5 thoughts on “….

  1. I’m late, but thanks for sharing this… We all need somebody…No matter what situation we’re in. God bless you for having the heart to reach out to him

  2. Hi. I’m from Scotland and I just watched a documentary which featured Anthony0 and I was just wondering how he was doing ? God bless you both.

  3. hey, youre lucky you got to see him. i probably never will since i live in the uk. yeah no telling but the next time you see him, tell him pamela hendy from UK says hie 🙂

  4. Hi, I was thinking of writing him a letter via pen pal, but you have to give your address and that freaks me out! I mean he could get out and be a serial killer/master manipulator given his demeanour and slight stutter reminds me every so slightly of Edward Norton in Primal Fear (i know i know Anthony’s probably a nice guy but still a possibility right)!!. Anyway I do think he deserves a retrial, especially after finding out out the judge was cleaning his guns, wtf tactic is that, and that he wasn’t present during part of jury selection.. that judge should’ve been stood down like 20 years ago by the sounds of it. In Australia that would never be allowed, we have crazy animals, but none sitting on the bench.

Leave a Reply

